MegaCon 2019 reports over 100K fans, amazing ‘Back the Future’ ‘Boy Meets World’ ‘Smallville’ ‘Goonies’ reunions

MEGACON™, the Southeast’s largest fan convention wrapped up the four-day convention May 16-19, 2019 at the Orange County Convention Center. The multi-genre convention welcomed more than 100,000 fans and included never-before-seen cast reunions alongside a star-studded celebrity lineup, endless programming and more. 

Fans witnessed special cast reunion panels like Back to the Future including Michael J. Fox, Christopher Lloyd, Lea Thompson, Tom Wilson and James Tolkan; Boy Meets World including Danielle Fishel, Ben Savage, Will Friedle and Rider Strong; Smallville including Tom Welling, Michael Rosenbaum and Kristin Kreuk; The Goonies including Sean Astin, Corey Feldman and Ke Huy Quan. 

Other featured celebrity guests included Zachary Levi (Shazam!); Lynda Carter (Wonder Woman); David Tennant (Doctor Who); John Barrowman and Stephen Amell (Arrow); Keifer Sutherland, Jason Patric and Corey Feldman (The Lost Boys); Peter Weller (Robocop); Patricia Summersett (Legend of Zelda); Rose McIvers (iZombie); Tyler Hoechlin (SuperGirlTeen Wolf); Mike Colter (Luke Cage); Dan Folger (Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them); Lana Parrilla (Once Upon A Time); Jason David Frank (Power Rangers) among others. 




The Mickey Mouse Club celebrated its 30th anniversary of its debut episode with a once-in-a-lifetime reunion of the Mouseketeers on Saturday, May 18. Hosted by Joey Fatone, the special reunion panel brought together Mouseketeers from seasons one through seven including Deedee Magno Hall, Lindsey Alley, Marc Worden, Tony Lucca and more. 


New to the MEGACON Orlando lineup this year was The Digicon Experience. On Saturday, May 18 and Sunday, May 19, fans participated in interactive panels and Q&As, one-on-one meet & greets hosted by talented social media influencers and content creators from the YouTube world. Sofie Dossi, Tana Mongeau, Chloe Lukasiak, Mario Selman, Dytto, BadZach, Grav3YardGirl, IAmZoie each hosted unique VIP experiences for fans.  


Masters of Cosplay International united cosplayers from all around the world including invited guests from Canada, Italy and Argentina with an all-new cosplay programming track. Fans practiced the art of cosplay in the The Fan Guru Masters of Cosplay Grand Prix, a cosplay competition created by FAN EXPO HQ in 2018. Competing with five other shows in five different cities, Orlando’s regional champions were Fred & Elle Designs wearing Ork Big Mek “WazzDakka” and Grot assistant “Gubbinz” from Warhammer 40K. They will compete at FAN EXPO Canada and go head to head to claim the title of Master of Cosplay. Throughout the weekend, cosplayers from all over united at themed cosplay meet-ups and strutted their cosplay on the red carpet. 


Exciting new booths were packed on the show floor this year, including CosFx, which allowed guests to relive different movies like Beetlejuice and The Addams Family in an interactive photo booth with special props for the perfect photo takeaway gift. Additionally, other classic booths, including the Batmobile from Tim Burton’s 1989 Batman Film, Star Wars by the 501st Legion and Ghostbusters. 


Many panels and photo opportunities took place this weekend, with highlights including the casts of Boy Meets World and Back to the Future, Peter Cullen and Frank Welker, David Tennant, Zachary Levi and more. A unique anime car show welcomed fans into the convention center with over 10 cars on display daily.

MEGACON Orlando 2020 will take place April 16-19, 2020. For more information and tickets, please visit

“Back to the Future Union” at MegaCon 2019 Photo Credit: Rachel Parker Photography


FAN EXPO HQ is one of the largest entertainment convention groups in the world. Collectively, it hosts more than 500,000 fans annually at FAN EXPO Boston, Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo, FAN EXPO Canada, FAN EXPO Dallas, FAN EXPO Vancouver, MEGACON Orlando, Toronto Comicon, and Dallas Fan Days.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *