Campaign to Fix the Debt Recognizes Fiscal Heroes in Congress

The Campaign to Fix the Debt is pleased to announce and honor a new class of Fiscal Heroes for 2020, listed below. This bipartisan group of 14 Senators and 28 House members has distinguished themselves by showing leadership on issues of fiscal responsibility. The following is a statement from Maya MacGuineas, president of the Committee for a Responsible Federal Budget and head of the Campaign to Fix the Debt:

Image by PublicDomainPNG from Pixabay

The current public health and economic crisis is a painful reminder of why it is important to control the national debt during good times so that we have the capacity to borrow as needed during tough times without leaving the nation in a precarious fiscal position. Our Fiscal Heroes showed tremendous leadership prior to the pandemic, at a time when too many politicians were ignoring the issue.

These members are being recognized for going the extra mile to develop and endorse solutions to the nation’s budget crisis. They have distinguished themselves by casting fiscally responsible votes, drafting and pursuing legislative solutions, pushing their party leaders to make addressing the debt a priority, and engaging and educating their constituents.

Their work now is more critical than ever, as pandemic relief has the national debt set to exceed the size of the economy by the end of this year and reach an all-time high in 2021. While today’s focus is rightly on the current emergency, our debt remains on an unsustainable trajectory and must ultimately be brought under control.

We want to commend these members who take the debt seriously. This issue requires their bipartisan leadership and a willingness to take hard votes and pursue innovative solutions. They deserve our thanks and praise.

The list of honorees is as follows:
Sen. Michael Bennet, D-Colo.
Sen. Mike Braun, R-Ind.
Sen. Thomas Carper, D-Del.
Sen. Bill Cassidy, R-La.
Sen. Michael Enzi, R-Wyo.
Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.
Sen. James Lankford, R-Okla.
Sen. Mike Lee, R-Utah
Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W.Va.
Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky.
Sen. Mitt Romney, R-Utah
Sen. Rick Scott, R-Fla.
Sen. Jon Tester, D-Mont.
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I.
Rep. Justin Amash, L-Mich.
Rep. Jodey Arrington, R-Texas
Rep. Jim Banks, R-Ind.
Rep. Anthony Brindisi, D-N.Y.
Rep. Ken Buck, R-Colo.
Rep. Ed Case, D-Hawaii
Rep. Michael Cloud, R-Texas
Rep. Jim Cooper, D-Tenn.
Rep. Joe Cunningham, D-S.C.
Rep. Lloyd Doggett, D-Texas
Rep. Virginia Foxx, R-N.C.
Rep. Mike Gallagher, R-Wisc.
Rep. Andy Harris, R-Md.
Rep. Ron Kind, D-Wisc.
Rep. John Larson, D-Conn.
Rep. Daniel Lipinski, D-Ill.
Rep. Roger Marshall, R-Kansas
Rep. Ben McAdams, D-Utah
Rep. Stephanie Murphy, D-Fla.
Rep. Ralph Norman, R-S.C.
Rep. Scott Peters, D-Calif.
Rep. Dean Phillips, D-Minn.
Rep. Kathleen Rice, D-N.Y.
Rep. Chip Roy, R-Texas
Rep. Kurt Schrader, D-Ore.
Rep. David Schweikert, R-Ariz.
Rep. Abigail Spanberger, D-Va.
Rep. William Timmons, R-S.C.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *